12 Regions May Not Vote Until 2017

The government and the Basic Elections Fee (KPU) have agreed that in areas the place just one ticket is contesting the Dec. 9 elections, the ballot may very well be delayed till Feb. 2017.

Home Minister Tjahjo Kumolo stated there was still time for political events to nominate their candidates before the end of the 10-day prolonged registration interval within the 12 electoral districts with only one ticket running so far.

I’m optimistic that in this second spherical of registrations, all 12 [districts] will meet their quota,” Tjahjo advised reporters on the vice presidential workplace on Wednesday.

Tjahjo expressed his optimism when assembly with quite a lot of political get together leaders who reported on inter-occasion lobbying across the nomination of candidates.

He urged political events to settle their variations and collectively nominate candidates earlier than the deadline expired.

Based on technical revisions stipulated within the recently handed KPU Regulation No. 12/2015, if, at the finish of the extended registration period, there are fewer than two tickets standing for the election, the Regional General Election Commission (KPUD) can enable three extra days of registration.

If no party was to register candidates during that period, the election would be postponed till the next election period, which can be in early 2017.

If two candidate pairings emerge in all 12 regions, the problem is solved. [If not], we’ll transfer [their elections] to 2017. However then there shall be a sudden have to problem a Perppu [a regulation in lieu of law]” Tjahjo said.

Baca juga:  500 Pound Bomb Dropped on U.S. Soldiers By Mistake

Even when not one of the parties decided to nominate candidates, Tjahjo mentioned two pairs of impartial candidates can be enough to have a legitimate election.

Primarily based on KPU preliminary knowledge, not a single pair of candidates has registered in East Bolaang Mongondow regency in North Sulawesi, whereas just one pair has registered in each of 10 regencies and four municipalities.

The 10 regencies are Asahan in North Sumatra, Serang in Banten, Tasikmalaya in West Java, Purbalingga in Central Java, Blitar and Pacitan in East Java, Timur Tengah Utara in East Nusa Tenggara, South Minahasa in North Sulawesi and South Sorong and Pegunungan Arfak, both in West Papua.

The 4 municipalities are Mataram in West Nusa Tenggara, Samarinda in East Kalimantan, Surabaya in East Java and Tidore Island in North Maluku.

Commenting on the opportunity of political events placing a cope with rival parties to nominate shadow candidates designed only to permit polling to happen this year, KPU commissioner Ferry Kurnia Rizkiyansyah stated that the KPU had no authority to regulate how political events or occasion coalitions select their candidates.

Our duty is to ensure that all candidates meet all requirements. It is up to them to join with whoever they need,” Ferry informed reporters on Wednesday.

Individually, Vice President Jusuf Kalla said that it was only natural to have only one ticket in certain regions.

Baca juga:  The Crimea Officially Merged With Russia

It’s doable in some areas that no parties wish to nominate their candidates because the incumbent is just too sturdy to beat. Reasonably than wasting cash, they may select not to be part of the election,” Kalla informed reporters.

One such case is the domination of Surabaya’s widespread mayor, Tri Rismaharini, nominated by the Indonesian Democratic Get together of Struggle (PDI-P), and at present unopposed.

Related posts

Leave a Comment